Ujjain city of Mahakal

Ujjain is one of the oldest cities of India. It is located in the Malwa region of Madhya Pradesh state. In ancient times Ujjain was known by the names of Ujjayini and Avanti. It is situated on the eastern bank of River Shipra. Ujjain was referred to as Ozene by Ptolemy. Ujjain is one of the seven sacred cities of the Hindus. Ujjain is one of the four sacred places where the Kumbh Mela is held. The Kumbh Mela festival is held at Ujjain after every twelve years. Ujjain is also home to one of the twelve Jyotirlinga shrines in India.

Ujjain is considered a sacred city for the Hindus. The Mahakal Temple, housing one of the twelve Jyotirlingas, is the most famous and respected Shiva temple. Other important temples of Ujjain are Harsidhhi (Durga Temple), Chintaman Ganesh, Gadh Kalika, Kaal Bhairav and Magalnath. Since Ujjain is an ancient city, there are many monuments that have survived from the ancient period.

The most spectacular monument is the Kalideh Palace on the outskirts of the Ujjain city. It is a fine example of ancient Indian architecture. The Bhartuhari Gufa is an ancient cave which has some interesting legends associated with it. The observatory at Ujjain is another remarkable example. It was built Raja Jai Singh of Udaipur and put is one of the five such observatories in India and has many ancient astronomical devices.

The most important religious event at Ujjain is the Simhasta Mela (also called the Kumbh Mela). The Simhasta Mela or the Kumbh Mela is held every twelve years in Ujjain. During the Kumbh Mela millions of devotees assemble at Ujjain to have a holy dip in the holy River Shipra. Another yearly event at Ujjain is the Kartik Mela. The Kartik Mela is a fair organized every year in the Hindu month of Kartik (around December) and attracts thousands of people from the nearby areas.

History Of Ujjain

The history of Ujjain dated back to the 4th century when the great Emperor Ashoka ruled over the city and it was the capital of Avanti kingdom giving it the name Avantika. It was the time when first meridian of Hindu’s geography calendar was marked as passing through Ujjain. After the fall of Mauryan ruler, the Sungas and Satavahanas ruled the city and then came the Sakas that reigned there from 2nd to 4th century CE. Later on, Chandragupta II ruled over the city during the 5th and 6th century and it became an important centre in the field of astronomy and astrology. The famous mathematician Brahmagupta born here and it was Vikramaditya who began the Hindu Vikram Samvat Era in the country. After the Guptas, several other dynasties captivated the reign of Ujjain including the Paramara Dynasty, Chalukya Dynasty, Chandella Dynasty and the Rajputs. In the year 1235, the city was invaded by Delhi Sultan Iltutmish followed by Ala-ud-din Khilji in 1305. In the 15th century, the great king Akbar ruled the city and later on his grandson Aurangzeb took several efforts to preserve the grandeur of the ancient city of Ujjain. In the later period, the city got invaded by the Marathas and it remained as a part of the state of Gwalior before Independence. Finally in 1956, it got merged as a part of Madhya Bharat and declared as an important town of Madhya Pradesh.

Tamples in Ujjain

Ujjain is taken into consideration to be an vital area of pilgrimage. It is domestic to many well-known temples which includes Kal Bhairav temple, Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga, Mangalnath Temple and Sandipani Ashram. Check out the entire listing of well-known Ujjain Mandir.

Pooja in Ujjain

# Type Of Puja Amount (in Rs.)
1 General Puja 11000.00
2 Shiv Mahimn Path 11000.00
3 Rudrabhishesk Vaidik Puja 11000.00
4 Shiv Mahimn Strot 11000.00
5 Rudrabhishek (11 Avartan) Rudra Patha 11000.00
6 Laghu Rudraabhishek (121 Paath) by 11 Brhamin 11000.00
7 Maha Rudraabhishek 11000.00
8 Mahamrutyunjay Jaap (1.25 Lakh jaap) 11000.00
9 Bhanga Shringar 11000.00